Debrecen University medical faculty


The history of Debrecen’s higher education dates back to the 16th century. The Reformed College of Debrecen, established in 1538, played a central role in education, teaching in native language and spreading Hungarian culture in the region, as well as in the whole country. The College soon became the most important cultural center in the whole country, where a great number of writers, scientists and politicians were educated at.

On January 1, 2000, the colleges and universities of Hajdú-Bihar county, the University of Agriculture, Lajos Kossuth University, and the Medical University, were combined. The resulting University of Debrecen had five university and three college level faculties with 20,000 students. The Conservatory of Debrecen and University campuses in Hajdúböszörmény and Nyíregyháza joined later.

With a student body of about 30 thousand, over 4,300 of which are international students, the University of Debrecen is one of the largest institutions of higher education in Hungary today. The cooperation of 14 faculties ensures the multidisciplinary background guaranteeing the University a leading role as a research and education institution, and the intellectual center of Eastern Hungary.


The Medical College of Debrecen University has the Departments of Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy and Public Health. Medical schools aim to train doctors, dentists, pharmacists, public health experts and continuing education.

The Medical Center also provides regional health service centers, not only in Debrecen, but also in the integrated region of northeastern Hungary.



  • 26,938 students as of 15th October 2018
  • 5,664 international students as of 15th October 2018
  • 29,860 new, 8,646 first place applications for the 2018/2019 academic year altogether
  • total number of students admitted (including international students): 7,108 (2018/2019)
  • 23,600 courses offered
  • 87 Bachelor’s programs
  • 100 Master’s programs
  • 10 undivided, one-tier training programs

Staff (as of 15th October 2018)

  • 207 Professors
  • 1,335 Associate and assistant professors
  • 7,059 Non-academic staff (full-time)
  • 229 Non-academic staff (part-time)


  • 14 Faculties
  • 7 campuses
  • 2 teaching training secondary schools
  • 2 elementary schools
  • 24 doctoral schools
  • 7 libraries

International Relations

  • 874 bilateral agreements with
  • 615 partner institutions in
  • 44 countries


MajorAcademic degreeSchool SystemTuition Fee
 Clinical Medicinedoctor6years16900$/year
MajorAcademic degreeSchool SystemTuition Fee
 Clinical Medicinedoctor6years16900$/year
Public healthbachelor4years6000$/year
Public healthmasterBachelor of Science at least 18 months/Master of Science at least 12 monthsTotal 12000$ /8000$
Rehabilitation therapymaster2years8000$/year
molecular biologymaster2yars8500$/year
Health and sociologymaster2years5000$/year
Pre-med(Jan or sep)1year or half7000$/year

Tips: Dentistry – If you pay tuition for the semester, the first semester is $9,100; the second semester is $7,900, for a total of $17,000. From the third year onwards, an additional $1,200 in dental materials/semester will be paid for registration.

Clinical medicine: If you pay tuition fees during the semester, the first semester is $9,500; the second semester is $8,400, for a total of $17,900/year.